My Fabulous Five

I’m lucky and fortunate in so many ways.  One of the aspects of my life where I consider myself blessed…is that I’m surrounded by great people.  I have a core group of friends who I would trust with my life…and talk to them on the phone several times a week.  The phone…yes.  I’m lucky that these people are only a phone call away.  In person…while I am a news reporter and am around people all the time…I don’t get to interact with friends in person as much as I’d like.  My person to person interaction (on a daily basis) consists of five souls.  I say “souls”…because one is a bird.

1.  Brendan: I have THE BEST boyfriend in the world.  Brendan is amazing in every way.  To be honest, I don’t know what I’d do without him.  I cherish every minute I spend with him…it sounds cheesey, yes, but that’s the way it is.  He’s my person.

2.  Leslie:  Leslie is Brendan’s live in resident.  That sounds really impersonal though…Leslie has become family to me.  He doesn’t talk with words…but we have conversations.  He’s become a big part of my life and I’m glad he’s part of my five.

3.  Tom:  The person I spend the most time with…my photographer.  I’m surprised he hasn’t gotten sick of me at this point.  We spend 45-50 hours a week together, most of that time is in a car.  He’s part of “Team CPAN”.

4.  Kristina:  The other part of “Team CPAN”, Kristina and I spend a lot of time together at the office.  I really don’t know what I’d do without her or Tom.  They make my work days so much more enjoyable.  Kristina has a positive view on life that is unlike anyone else I interact with.  It’s refreshing.

5. Cinnamon:  The only non-human on this list.  My cockatiel.  The time I am not spending with the other four people on this list…is spent with Cinnamon.  He’s small but fierce…and the best listener I’ve ever met.  He’s also a talker…so it’s not like I’m talking to myself.  Best. Pet. Ever.

Don’t get me wrong.  I have friends out here in Lewisburg…WONDERFUL friends.  I just don’t see them as much as I’d like.

Leave a comment